Forever Daydreaming

Photo 1

Mid September it seemed like old man winter was coming in with a vengeance.  Almost giving off the feeling that he had something to prove, like it was an attempt to silence all the worries of globe warming. With the sudden drop in the snowline came an instance spike of early season stoke.  As the peaks of Rogers Pass started to take shape into the wonderful winter wonderland we all love, I my head started to fill with thoughts of ski days gone by.  Watching as the things I’ve skied starting to fill in.  Reliving those powder filled moments of joy and excitement.  Getting pretty stoked to get back on the skis and search for new adventures.

Rogers Pass starting to fill in

Rogers Pass starting to fill in

My birthday line from last season

My birthday line from last season

Mel enjoying some epic April powder in the Rhonde Alps

Mel enjoying some epic April powder in the Rhonde Alps

Unfortunately, work and other projects kept me from sampling any of the gloriously tempting early season fluffies.  So I kept on daydreaming of memorable moments from adventures had.  Reliving the moments that once upon a time were nothing but daydreams themselves.  Last season ended up being one that full filled a lot of daydreams, creating memories and moments that I am sure I will keep forever.

Team Canada @ the 3rd stop on the World Cup Circuit

Team Canada @ the 3rd stop on the World Cup Circuit

Mel and I on the summit of Mt Blanc

Mel and I on the summit of Mt Blanc

morning light on the Grand Mulets Refugee

morning light on the Grand Mulets Refugee

Start line of the 28th Pierra Menta

Start line of the 28th Pierra Menta

Serac Shredding

Serac Shredding

Mel having fun in Chamonix

Mel having fun in Chamonix

As abruptly, as it went from summer to the onset of the next ice age, my morning views went from snow capped peaks and majestic forests to skyscrapers and cookie cutter houses.  My walk along a tranquil dirt path to the worksite, was replaced by a drive through a seemingly never-ending ash fault labyrinth of suburban communities.  Leaving me to continue to relived those captured daydreams, as I helped to light up Calgarians lives, one colored bulb at a time.

Urban Jungle

Urban Jungle

All Lit up

All Lit up

One of my biggest daydreams that came to fruition last season was being able to walk out the door of my house, click in to my boards and go skiing, right from the doorstep.  Through the help and amazing generosity of a good friend and great man Andre Dugit, we got to live this daydream in the Rhonde Alps region of France, just outside of a little town called Beaufort.

Last season was filled with all sorts of memorable moments, both competitively and creatively.  At one point I actually got to combine the 2 aspects of the sport into something that is very similar to a daydream of an event, which I once had.  A nice mix of atheism, artistic creativity and straight up adventuring…

Now that the final countdown of the 2013 urban alpinism season has begun and my head is filled with goodtime memoires from last season, my excitement to get back out adventuring is starting to skyrocket.  I learned a lot last year and I am really looking forward to taking my new skills and insights out to play in my home mountains, and looking forward to spending some quality time with old man winter. 

Photo 6

Leave a Reply

